JUNE 2013. New Scroll is the new roots reggae album by foundation vocalist, the ‘Original Gorgon’, Cornel Campbell (ZHP)

Available June 18, 2013 courtesy of Zion High Productions

NEW SCROLL, the new album by foundation Jamaican vocalist, Cornel Campbell, evokes that timeless sufferah’s sound and spirit of the ‘golden era’ of Jamaican reggae within a treasure trove of original roots music. Boasting 9 new songs penned by the ‘Original Gorgon’, as well as 4 extraordinary dub mixes, New Scroll is loaded with the musicality and poetic flow that brought Campbell early and unparalleled success in the 1960s and 70s with solo recordings like the iconic “Queen of the Minstrel” or as a member of Jamaica’s most beloved harmony groups, the Eternals and the Uniques. Whether for legendary Jamaican producers Joe Gibbs, Coxsone Dodd, Winston ‘Niney’ Holness, Winston Riley and Duke Reid or contemporary musicsmiths like the UK’s Burial, Campbell’s musical impact has always transcended his more laid back public persona. Set now within Zion High Productions’ signature and award-winning ‘modern classic’ sound crafted by the Zion I Kings production team, Campbell’s cool and deadly style remains unrivalled. The Zion I Kings are Jah D (bass) representing ZHP, I Grade Records’ Tippy I (keys) known for his work with seminal groups like Midnite and Nazarenes, and Moon (guitar) who co-founded the Lustre Kings label and is credited with writing most recently on Major Lazer projects for Jahdan Blakkamoore and Snoop Lion.

“[N]o Jamaican singer possesses a smoother, more sensual high tenor voice than Cornel Campbell.” /allmusic.com

“[T]here’s really no other singer (save Marley) that matches his prowess.” /XLR8R


Cornel Campbell – Zion High Productions, CD/Digital – Release Date: June 18


1. New Scroll

2. Weed Out Vampires

3. Evil Woman

4. People

5. Seek JAH Love

6. Chant It Out

7. Gun Powder

8. Walking In The Rain

9. JAH Highway

10. New Scroll Dub

11. People Dub

12. Weed Out Vampires Dub

13. Seek JAH Love Dub